Substances added to rules on hazardous substances

Four phthalate plasticisers have been classified as Priority 1 Substances and added to the existing six substances restricted by EU Directive 2002/95/EC on the Restriction of Hazardous Substances (RoHS).

The four phthalates are Bis (2-ethylhexyl) Phthalate (DEHP), Butyl Benzyl Phthalate (BBP), Dibutyl Phthalate (DBP) and Diisobutyl Phthalate (DIBP). They join lead, mercury, cadmium, Hexavalent Chromium, Polybrominated Biphenyls (PBB) and Polybrominated Diphenyl Ethers (PBDE).

RoHS limits these substances to 0.1% or 1,000ppm (except for cadmium, which is limited to 0.01% or 100ppm) by weight of homogenous material. Restrictions on the four new substances will be phased in from July 22, 2019.

The long run-in period is designed to allow suppliers and manufacturers time to identify if the substances are present in homogenous materials at excessive levels and to make necessary changes without causing an impact on production or products.

As with other RoHS-restricted substances, these substances could be found in a wide range of promotional products, particularly those that include wiring and cabling.

For details, contact the bpma or our product safety partners, Intertek, and speak to Robert Hinchcliffe on 0116 263 9609 or email

© Copyright 2020 The BPMA | All rights reserved.